top of page

Coping with Grief and Change, Saddened by the Death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II 1926 - 2022

Updated: Mar 9, 2023

Many of us were shocked by the sudden death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Many people are also struggling with the grief her passing has brought them. Our Queen was our constant stability, so it is not surprising that her death rocks even those who would not have considered themselves royalists. As well as coming to terms with the loss, there is also the adjustment of Prince Charles becoming King Charles.

Grieving is a natural emotional experience. Of course, the passing of the Queen also reminds us of previously lost ones close to us. Some of you reading this will also be struggling with grieving for loved ones following recent bereavement.

In the 60s, psychiatrist Elizabeth Kubler-Ross introduced the five stages of grief. These stages of grief apply to anyone grieving their own mortality or for a deceased loved one. The stages are:

· Denial

· Anger

· Bargaining

· Depression

· Acceptance

There is no set order to experience grief stages and no set rules about grief. Each person’s grief is unique. What we must realise, though, is that while some elements of these stages are cathartic, sometimes being stuck in grief is very unhealthy when you are overwhelmed or feel that your life is not real or you feel disjointed as though in a dream. Anger is a natural grieving response, some anger is necessary and helps you move through your grieving process, yet prolonged anger or irrational anger aimed at another individual can fester and create problems.

Coping with change can lead to the same stirring pot of emotions as bereavement. Currently, we are experiencing massive changes that affect our lives. A change of monarch, a change of prime minister and cabinet members, changes to our standards of living. It is little wonder that many people in the UK currently struggle with change. Frequently people feel resentment, anger, depression and entrapment due to these changes that they cannot control or influence.

When you are not coping with grief or change, solution focussed hypnotherapy is here to help you move onto your next stage. Solution focussed hypnotherapy works to ease you through the stages of grief and help you manage change in your life.

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page